In 2002 the (then) CWSA/ACÉF introduced an annual book prize competition, awarded to a monograph published in the previous year, in either English or French, as selected by a committee of 3-5 members. In the years since implementing this award, between 8-18 books have been nominated each year. Nominations are solicited from both association members and from publishers. Award winners originally received a complimentary registration to the conference, a plaque, and a year's subscription to Atlantis at the awards ceremony during the annual conference.